New Project

I’ve been given the task of migrating an old, but large jsp website that uses loads of proprietary and outdated technology. Basically, it’s an administrator’s nightmare. I should know because I’m the administrator. I have no budget, working for a tiny company, so open source is my only option. Fortunately, there are many excellent choices that weren’t available when the antiquated system was built.

I’ve done a number of projects with Joomla, which I like quite a bit.  Joomla is easy to learn and good for getting a site up and running quickly, but for my needs it isn’t flexible enough.

I took a long hard look at Typo3, and came very close to using it. It’s extremely flexible and powerful, but the outdated documentation is abysmal. Add to that a very steep learning curve that would slow the project down not to mention having to learn (otherwise useless) typoscript and their theming system. Typo3 had many features to recommend it, but it ain’t for me.

drupal-logoI played with Drupal a few years ago and didn’t take the time to get to where I thought much of  it. Having grown wildly frustrated withTypo3, I decided to give Drupal another look. I’ve spent a couple of days now playing with a test installation and I’m already hooked. Drupal has everything I need. It’s flexible, powerful and scalable. It has a large user community and modules for everything you can think of.  A lot of large well-known sites use it.

I’m still just scratching the surface, but having messed around a bit with the Views module and Content Construction Kit (CCK) and I have to say that I’m impressed. I don’t think I’ll have any problems customizing Drupal to fit my needs.

Leave a Reply

